About

Introduction

The RAC Foundation is a transport policy and research organisation which explores the economic, mobility, safety and environmental issues relating to roads and their users. The Foundation publishes independent and authoritative research with which it promotes informed debate and advocates policy in the interest of the responsible motorist.

In 2013 the Foundation published 12 major pieces of research.

More details of the work carried out by the Foundation can be found in the publications section.

History

In 1999 RAC Motoring Services was sold by its owners; the individual members of the Royal Automobile Club. It was these members who granted the Foundation a generous legacy to guarantee its long-term future.

Today the Foundation is a registered charity and independent of both RAC Motoring Services and the Royal Automobile Club.

More information about the Foundation's charitable status can be found at:

www.charity-commission.gov.uk

Who's who

Joe Greenwell - Chairman - joe.greenwell@racfoundation.org

Joe Greenwell was appointed Chairman in July 2013. He succeeded David Quarmby. The former Chairman of Ford UK, Joe Greenwell had also been: Vice President, Government Affairs, Premier Automotive Group and Ford of Europe; Chairman and CEO of Jaguar and Land Rover; and Vice President, Marketing and Operations, Ford Motor Company.

Stephen Glaister CBE - Director - stephen.glaister@racfoundation.org

Stephen Glaister has been Director since October 2008. He is also Emeritus Professor of Transport and Infrastructure at Imperial College London and a member of the expert advisory panel of the Office of Rail Regulation. He is a former Partnership Director of Tube Lines. Previously Stephen was also a board member of TfL. He has advised government on numerous occasions.

Philip Gomm - Head of External Communications - philip.gomm@racfoundation.org

Elizabeth Box - Head of Research - elizabeth.box@racfoundation.org

Jo Abbott - Communications Manager - jo.abbott@racfoundation.org

Ivo Wengraf - Research & Data Manager - ivo.wengraf@racfoundation.org

Anneka Lawson - Research Analyst - anneka.lawson@racfoundation.org

Bhavin Makwana - Data Analyst - bhavin.makwana@racfoundation.org

How the Foundation is governed

The activities of the Foundation are overseen by a board of six trustees.

Joe Greenwell, who is chairman of the Foundation, is also chairman of the trustee board.

Additionally, Joe chairs the Foundation's Public Policy Committee. This advisory body usually consists of 14 members, including the trustees, predominantly drawn from the worlds of academia, politics and business, all with experience of, or an interest in, transport matters. The committee is consulted about research, strategy, major campaigns and future policy.

The Foundation's day to day running is managed by the director, Professor Stephen Glaister, with the help of the permanent staff.

×